Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /storage/content/56/139156/digigobos.com/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106 Hippotizer Forum Scandinavia :: View topic - Will ArtNet interfere with HippoNet if on the same network?
Hippotizer Forum Scandinavia
http://www.digigobos.com/forum/

Will ArtNet interfere with HippoNet if on the same network?
http://www.digigobos.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=252
Page 1 of 1

Author:  peppe [ Sun Nov 21, 2010 6:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Will ArtNet interfere with HippoNet if on the same network?

Artnet and Hipponet will not directly interfere with each other even if they are on the same network, however they both use a type of network communication called UDP Broadcasting. The problem with this is that it sends a lot of data to a lot of target machines without checking for data integrity. This is not normally a problem when used on it's own, however when two similar types of UDP broadcast data exist on the same network they can cause data collisions which will sometimes cause problems or delayed data on the network.

In our tests we have found that using a small number of machines on a network where a small number of Artnet channels are being used is OK, so if you are just controlling 1 machine with artnet and you want it to be on the same network then this should be fine, however if you have 3 or more Hipponet devices on a network then we would highly recommend seperating the network and using the Data network port on the Hippotizer for Artnet.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/