Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /storage/content/56/139156/digigobos.com/public_html/forum/common.php on line 106 Hippotizer Forum Scandinavia - View topic - Chassis Intruded! Fatal Error...
It is currently Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:44 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Chassis Intruded! Fatal Error... 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:01 am
Posts: 34
Post Chassis Intruded! Fatal Error...
Just to inform you all.
In the new chassis, there is a sensor in the backpart of the Hippo that seems to know if some backplates are missing... and this results in that the unit wont start.
I will fish for some more information and reasons why it is there but for now, make sure all backplates are in your new units.

If you still run into trouble, feel free to give me a call if neccessary.

All my best

Johan West


Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:57 pm
Profile E-mail
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:59 pm
Posts: 447
Post Re: Chassis Intruded! Fatal Error...
Hi, this sounds wierd!!! But I assume that you are right ( mr Hippowizzard) I have to check also!!
Why should they have that??

_________________
Peppe Tannemyr
SSR Beacon DigiGobos®
Sweden retailer of Hippo systems


Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:06 pm
Profile E-mail

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 21
Post Re: Chassis Intruded! Fatal Error...
Hi Johan
This does seem weird. I have been running Hippotizer with missing back panels.
There is not a sensor to my knowledge.
Which back panels did you remove?
Thanks
Tom

_________________
Green Hippo Ltd.

Skype; hippo_tech
Mobile: 07896677136

Tel : +44 (0) 207 993 4096
Fax: +44 (0) 207 096 1129


Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:14 am
Profile E-mail

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:02 pm
Posts: 10
Location: UK
Post Re: Chassis Intruded! Fatal Error...
Johan. Tom is correct. As far as I am aware there is no provision for Chasis Intrusion as part of the case. However, this is a feature of most motherboards to allow admimistrators in critical environments to monitor access to hardware. If you have this error message it is more likely that you have lost a jumper off the motherboard in transit or a setting has been changed in the bios to enable it. How you cure it will depend on the type of Motherboard you have in that system. If you already know then the manual is available as a pdf from the ASUS website. If you don't know then let us have the the serial number and we can probably tell you.

Cheers

James


Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:54 pm
Profile E-mail

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:01 am
Posts: 34
Post Re: Chassis Intruded! Fatal Error...
James and Tom..

i did take a readthrough of the Asus manual. The specific mobo does not have this function, it is a locked function on the P5W mobo.
I was very surprised to get this message, you both know that I have been playing around with these machines for a looooong time.

In the new chassis, there is a separate pcb that has a sensor (the LED pcb), this sensor is taken with a cable to the backpart of the chassis and is kind of hanging out... I disconnected this and got the unit back up and running.. What the sensor does, I dont know, anyway, by disconnecting it, I got around this problem. Have not had the time to recreate this problem but I do not want to see it again.

Johan


Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:33 pm
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.